messenger

Currently I use instant messaging a lot to communicate with my colleagues. I installed instantbird because it is based on mozilla technologies, although it is not a mozilla project.

I’m not very happy with it. On one hand, it is very simple. One the other, it does not support many protocols and has very few features. I particularly miss having a simple interface to twitter.

But, the worst part is that it is not very stable. It (too) often fails to (re-)connect, especially when the network changes (e.g., from LAN to wireless).

There are other possibilities, like pidgin (which was the one I used before), adium (which is specific for mac os x and popular with mac users) and microsoft messenger. (which… is… a microsoft application 😉 ).

But I just realized that there is a new version out (0.1.3.1), so I’ll download it and come back to this issue later.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

